You are here:Home » Other » Dry Days in Delhi 2014 List

Dry Days in Delhi 2014 List

EFT Bureau, New Delhi: For every Excise Year, the Government of N.C.T of Delhi notifies the number of dry days. The Excise Year commences on 1st July and comes to an end on June 30. For the current Excise Year, the Government has declared 21 dry days including three National holidays. It has been observed that normally people are confused about implications of a dry day.

It may be clarified that on dry days, sale and supply of liquor will remain suspended meaning thereby all the whole salers of country liquor as well as IMFL/Beer will not make the supply of liquor and all the retail vends will remain closed. But service of liquor in licensed Bars/Hotels/Clubs and Restaurants is permissible even on dry days except on three National holidays.

Even on the three National holidays, there is no bar on service of liquor in the rooms by the hotels provided they have obtained L-3 license for room service.

Not only this, on the National holidays, even L-20 / L-49A licenses are not granted. These are special temporary licenses granted for service of liquor in parties/functions. These licenses may however, be granted on other dry days.

It may be clarified that there is no ban for service of liquor by anyone at his residence provided the liquor served is authorised and is within the permissible limits.

The list of the dry days is given below:

1. Three National Holidays
26th January – Republic Day
2nd October – Gandhi Jayanti
15th August – Independence Day

2. Religious/importance days:
i. Ram Navami
ii. Guru Ravi Das Jayanti
iii. Mahashiv Ratri
iv. Id-ul-Zuha
v. Maharishi Dayanand Jayanti
vi. Holi
vii. Good Friday
viii. Id-ul-Fitre
ix. Mahavir Jayanti
x. Muharam
xi. Budh Purnima
xii. Milad Un Nabi
xiii. Krishna Janmashtmi
xiv. Dussehra
xv. Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
xvi. Diwali
xvii. Guru Nanak’s Birthday
xviii. Guru Teg Bahadur Martydom Day